Your browser has javascript turned off or blocked. This will lead to some parts of our website to not work properly or at all. Turn on javascript for best performance.

The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Department Management

Department of Geology Management

The department advisory board

The advisory board within the department consists of people with different types of management positions, and serves as support for the Head of Department in various decision-making matters. The advisory board discusses and handles current issues of a more strategic nature, and often prepares the agenda for the Departmental Board. The group is also an important forum for dialogue between the institution and the faculty. The composition of the group guarantees that the variety of information reaches the staff quickly and efficiently. The composition of the advisory board also secure a high decision-making quality because the current issues are highlighted with versatility prior to decisions.

The advisory board meets Thursdays 13:00 on odd weeks, or when the Head of the Department convenes a meeting.




The Department Advisory Board 2018: Ulf Söderlund (Subject Representative BGG), Raimund Muscheler (Subject Representative KVG), Mikael Calner (Head of Department), Åsa Wallin (House prefect), Anders Scherstén (Deputy prefect), Dan Hammarlund (Director of Undergraduate Studies), Helena Filipsson (Director of Research studies). The advisory board also includes Gisela Caesar (Head of Registry, not in picture).

Department of Geology Board

The board is the department's ultimate decision-making body. The Board is headed by the Head of Department, and its composition reflects the different staff groups and includes representatives of the undergraduate and graduate programs. The Board is elected to stand for three years.

Institutionsstyrelsen 2018-2020: Anders Scherstén (ordförande), Helena Alexanderson (lärare), Carl Alwmark (lärare), Dan Hammarlund (lärare), Vakant (övrig personal/forskare), Raimund Muscheler (lärare), Charlotte Möller (lärare), Gert Pettersson (övrig personal), Ulf Söderlund (lärare), Åsa Wallin (övrig personal), Sofia Åkesson (doktorand), Tim Bjermo (student).

Suppleanter: Git Klintvik Ahlberg (övrig personal), Johan Lindgren (lärare), Charlotte Sparrenbom (lärare), vakant (student).

The board meets three times a semester, or when the head of department convenes.
Department of Geology Board Minutes:

Post-graduate Research Committee

The Department of Geology has a joint post-graduate research committee with the Department of Physical Geography and Ecosystems Analysis (INES). The committee monitors and promotes our joint post-graduate research program. It is also active in issues relating to the training of supervisors and internationalization. In addition, the committee is a preparatory body for decision-making by the Board in respect of tertiary level education. The chairman is the Director of Graduate Studies at INES (Jonas Ardö).

Basic Education Committee

This committee has overall responsibility for developing and coordinating training at basic (bachelor’s) and advanced (master’s) levels within the department. The Board is a forum for discussion and long-term planning, as well as being responsible for the quality of education at undergraduate and graduate levels. The committee consists of a director of undergraduate studies (Dan Hammarlund, convener), student counselor (Karl Ljung) and programme administrator (Henrik Stålhane).

Equality Committee

Equality Committee's main task is to develop proposals for an equality plan, and to monitor it annually, and revise it. An important task for the committee is also to raise awareness of gender equality within the department. The committee reports its work to the Department Board. To the Equal opportunity group's webpage.

Safety officers

Safety officer: Martin Jarenmark

Deputy safety officer: Mattias Olsson

Other duties at the department

Director flammable materials: Mattias Olsson
Deputy flammable materials: Åsa Wallin
Fire manager: Åsa Wallin

KLARA-responsible (chemicals): Git Klintvik Ahlberg

Environmental Coordinator: Gert Pettersson